2010 World Cup Game

2010 FIFA World Cup

The 2010 FIFA World Cup will take place in South Africa. It starts June 11, 2010 and the 2010 Champion will be crowned on July 11, 2010. The 32-team field has taken more than two years to set as each team has to qualify by playing in FIFA tournaments prior to the World Cup every four years.

2010 World Cup

World Cup Facts
-First game of the 2010 Tournament starts June 11 at 10AM EST as the host nation, South Africa takes on Mexico.
-Group play takes place from June 11 to June 25
-Round of 16 will starts on June 26
-All games can be seen on the ESPN Networks in the United States. World Cup Game Schedule.
ESPN will unveil a new 3D Television Network with the opening game, South Africa vs. Mexico
-Games will start at 730AM EST, 10AM EST, 230PM EST during Group Play.
-All Stage 2 games will take place at either 10AM EST or 230PM EST.

How the World Cup Works

Qualification for the 2010 World Cup started in August 2007 and was not completed until November 2009. A total of 204 teams played about 850 matches to fill the 31 open spots in the bracket. South Africa received an automatic bid for being the host country.

Final Draw
A random draw determines what group each World Cup qualified team plays in. There are four pots of teams. Each pot is specifically filled with teams based on geographic location and world rankings. The pots are drawn in numerical order. The groups are filled in order from A-H with one team from each pot, thus fulfilling the bracket for the 2010 World Cup.

Group Stage
The tournament is broken down into 8 groups, labeled A-H. Each World Cup group has four teams in it. The groups play a round-robin tournament the first two weeks of the tournament. The top-2 teams from each group after the round-robin tournament move on to the next round of the World Cup, the knockout stage.

In the Group Stage, teams are allowed to tie matches because they are not single-elimination. The teams with the most amount of points advance to the next round. A team receives 3 points for a win, 1 for a draw and 0 for a loss. If two teams in a group have the same amount of points at the end of group play, the team with the biggest goal difference will advance per FIFA rules.

Stage 2 (Knockout Stage)
After the group play is over, the World Cup turns into a single-elimination tournament, starting with the Round of 16. If a team loses in the knockout stage they are eliminated from the tournament. The knockout stage runs to the end of the tournament. The Final Four team winners play in the 2010 Championship game as the losers of the semifinals play in a 3rd place game.

World Rankings
Each month FIFA comes out with the World Rankings. These rankings are based on several categories FIFA takes into consideration. Similar to BCS Standings, the FIFA rankings show fans who the top teams in the World are. The top 10 teams in order are: Brazil, Spain, Portugal, Netherlands, Italy, Germany, Argentina, England, Croatia and France. The United States is ranked 14th.

March Madness vs. World Cup Summer Madness

The World Cup Bracket Game falls into the same family as the March Madness Tournament Bracket challenges that you play every March and April. A few differences arise, mainly from the number of teams (World Cup- 32, NCAA – 68) and the group play in the World Cup.

The Group Play is one of the most important rounds in the World Cup game. If you do not select the top two teams to come out of the group, your points will suffer down the road in the game, especially if one of those teams continue to win. One of the reasons Fantazzle is offering 1 point to the total points for referring a friend is because of the group play stage. If you have a bad group play stage, you can redeem yourself by finding friends to play the game.

Fantazzle hopes to bring the popularity of the March Madness brackets to the World Cup, and make the World’s greatest tournament a popular Fantasy Bracket game.

United States National Team

The 2010 men’s United States National Soccer team is poised to make a strong run in the 2010 World Cup. With the strongest team in the history of the United States, they are looking to make a long run into the World Cup. The United States has never won the World Cup and only have one third place finish in the 1930s.

The team is currently ranked 14th in the world by FIFA and are 1st in the CONCACAF standings. To qualify for the 2010 World Cup, the US team won 7 of 8 games against Barbados, Cubs, Guatemala, and Trindad and Tobago. They then advanced to the next round of qualification against Mexico, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras and Trinidad and Tobago.

The United States beat heavily favored Mexico 2-0 in qualifying, solidifying themselves as a strong team in the World Cup.

The US is in Group C for the 2010 World Cup, alongside England, Algeria and Slovenia. Group C is one of the most favorable draws for top teams like England and the US. They are both expected to easily advance to Stage 2. As we all know from watching the NCAA Tournament, anything can happen once a team advances in tournaments. This team has the skills to make some noise in South Africa.

Coach Bob Bradley's team will have such stars on it like Landon Donovan, goalie Tim Howard, team captain Carlos Bocanegra, and DeMarcus Beasley.

Although this team might not be ready to be considered a legit World Cup Champion contender, they have the stars to make some noise in this tournament and go deeper than ever before. They can be the World Cup's 2010 Cinderella team.

World Cup Pages

With this World Cup knowledge, try your luck at the Fantazzle World Cup Bracket Game.

2010 Bracket Game Details
World Cup How to Play/Info
World Cup Bracket Game FAQ
World Cup Bracket Game Standings



Tags: 2010 World Cup | World Cup Game | World Cup Bracket Game